The Best Acatenango Tour Company for You

Acatenango tour companies side by side: price, what each includes, the guide's language, the bed at camp, whether the entrance fee is paid, the cancellation terms and what reviews say.

Updated November 2026

Every Acatenango tour here takes you to a camp facing Fuego and up to the same summit, so the company you pick decides the things around the walk: the guide’s language, the size of the group, the bed at camp, the food, and what you pay on top. For most people the best value is Volcano Expeditions’ From Antigua: 2-Day Acatenango Volcano Hiking Adventure, from US$57 a person (checked November 2026), with pickup, three meals and warm clothes lent. Pay more for a guide who speaks English, a group of six, the entrance fee included or a bed in a glamping tent.

Powerd by GetYourGuide

The calendar shows Volcano Expeditions’ price for the date you pick. You can reserve now, pay later and cancel free until 24 hours before.

CONRED restricted the ascent of Acatenango on 4 August 2026, during Fuego’s eruption; operators were selling dates in November 2026 when we checked. Check CONRED and INGUAT before you go.

Nine hikes side by side

TourFromGuideThe nightEntrance feeCancelling
2-Day Acatenango Volcano Hiking Adventure (Volcano Expeditions)US$57SpanishSleeping bag and mat at base campNot includedFree up to 24 hours before
Acatenango Volcano Overnight Tour (Tours & Activities SA)US$90Spanish, EnglishA-frame cabin, mattress and pillowNot included (Q100)Free up to 24 hours before
Small-Group Acatenango Hike & Eruption-View Cabins (Acatenango Experience VIP)US$170 each for twoEnglish, Spanish; up to 6Cabin at a private base campIncludedFree up to 24 hours before
Acatenango with Overnight Stay by 4WD + Glamping (Silverbacks Experiences)US$430English; up to 8Glamping tentIncluded, with the farm’sFree up to 24 hours before
Overnight Adventure Hike Acatenango Volcano (Brothers Expeditions)US$115Not statedSleeping bag and matNot includedAll sales final, no refund
Acatenango Overnight Hike Multiday Tour (CA Travelers)US$129Not statedFour-person cabinIncludedAll sales final, no refund
Two day hiking tour to the Acatenango Volcano (Experience GT)US$135Not statedNot statedIncludedFree up to 24 hours before
2-Day Acatenango Comfort: Cabins + Private Shorter Path (Pachamama Tours)US$225Not statedCabinIncludedFull refund 6 full days before
Acatenango Volcano Overnight Hike with Comfort Glamping (Trek Guatemala)US$379Not statedComfort glamping tentIncludedFull refund 3 full days before

From-prices a person: GetYourGuide checked November 2026, Viator checked November 2026. Acatenango Experience VIP's from-price is each person’s share for two adults; one adult alone paid US$295 on the dates we read. Each row’s cancellation terms are that tour’s own.

Where the entrance fee is not included, the Municipalidad de Acatenango charges foreign visitors Q100 (quetzales) a person (checked November 2026); the entrance fee and rules explains how it is paid.

Pick by what matters to you

Illustration: a few hikers in warm jackets and hats on the rim of a volcanic summit crater at sunrise, seen from behind, a sea of cloud below and a distant smoking cone on the horizon
Illustration. Sunrise on the summit rim, the same view whichever company you climb with.

Book whichever fits you:

Lowest price

From Antigua: 2-Day Acatenango Volcano Hiking Adventure

From US$57 per person · 4.4 ★ (1,786 reviews) · GetYourGuide

Volcano Expeditions: pickup, three meals, a jacket, gloves and hat lent, the sunrise summit. The guide speaks Spanish; the park entrance and water are extra.

Check dates →
Spanish and English guide

Acatenango Volcano Overnight Tour (2 Days and 1 Night)

From US$90 per person · 4.5 ★ (1,029 reviews) · GetYourGuide

Tours & Activities SA lists its guide as Spanish and English, and sleeps you in an A-frame cabin with a mattress and pillow. The park entrance and gear are extra.

See the tour →
Small group, fee paid

Antigua: Small-Group Acatenango Hike & Eruption-View Cabins

From US$170 per person (two adults; one adult paid US$295) · 4.4 ★ (19 reviews) · GetYourGuide

Acatenango Experience VIP keeps groups to six with one guide, and pays the park fees. One adult alone paid US$295 on the dates we read.

See the tour →

Prices, ratings and review counts from the listings (GetYourGuide checked November 2026). Operators price by date and season, so treat the figures as the shape of the market, not a quote.

Water and fee included

Two day hiking tour to the Acatenango Volcano

From US$135 per person · 4.8 ★ (232 reviews) · 48 hours · Viator

Experience GT on Viator includes the entrance fee, three meals, two litres of water, warm clothes, a flashlight and a walking stick. Free cancellation up to 24 hours before.

See it on Viator →
Less climbing

Antigua: Acatenango with Overnight Stay by 4WD + Glamping

From US$430 per person · 4.4 ★ (9 reviews) · GetYourGuide

Silverbacks Experiences drives a 4WD most of the way up and walks 40 minutes to a glamping tent, then climbs to the summit at dawn. Limited to 8; 9 reviews so far.

See the tour →

Prices, ratings and review counts from the listings (GetYourGuide checked November 2026, Viator checked November 2026). Operators price by date and season, so treat the figures as the shape of the market, not a quote.

Guide language

Check the language line before you book: it comes up often in the complaints. On Volcano Expeditions' hike the guide is Spanish-speaking. Tours & Activities SA's tour has a guide in Spanish and English, and on the 20 January date we read its booking page showed an English guide. Acatenango Experience VIP's small group has English and Spanish, but one of its 19 reviews (9 June 2026) says the group booked for an English-speaking guide and got a Spanish-speaking one. The last five hikes in the table give no guide language.

What the newest reviews say

We read the 350 newest GetYourGuide reviews of the two biggest sellers:

  • Volcano Expeditions, 8 May to 7 November 2026: 53 of 350 give three stars or fewer. The complaints that come up most are about the guides, the camp (crowded, cold), the size of the group and too little food.
  • Tours & Activities SA, 4 March to 5 November 2026: 49 of 350 give three stars or fewer, about the camp (a freezing cabin), the guides and the food; one of October 2026 says the extra cost of the Fuego trip was not made clear.

The smaller operators have far fewer reviews: Acatenango Experience VIP 19 and Silverbacks Experiences 9 on GetYourGuide. Brothers Expeditions has 4.8 from 505 reviews and CA Travelers 4.8 from 333 reviews (checked November 2026), Viator and Tripadvisor reviews combined.

The bed at camp

Map of the volcanoes around Antigua Guatemala: the road from Antigua to the Acatenango park entrance, 21.7 km, with Acatenango (3,976 m) and Fuego (3,763 m) south of it
Every tour here starts in Antigua and drives to the park entrance near La Soledad, 21.7 km by road; the camps are on Acatenango, facing Fuego.

The tours differ most at night: a sleeping bag and mat on Volcano Expeditions' hike, an A-frame cabin on Tours & Activities SA's, a four-person cabin on CA Travelers', and glamping tents on Silverbacks Experiences' and Trek Guatemala's. acatenangovolcanoovernighttour.com compares the beds in detail: shared cabins, A-frame cabins and glamping tents.

What every tour leaves to you

Whichever you book, the walk is yours to do: how hard is the Acatenango hike covers the effort and the packing list the kit. Several listings also sell an extra trip to Fuego, priced separately. Where it goes is not stated, and CONRED said on 9 August 2026 that the ascent of Fuego is not authorized.

Check dates for the two-day hike

More from Antigua

Hikes and Day Trips from Antigua with Open Dates

Acatenango hikes and other trips from Antigua Guatemala with live availability. Pickup, what is included and the cancellation terms show before you book.

From Antigua: 2-Day Acatenango Volcano Hiking Adventure

The Full Climb at the Lowest Price

4.4/5 from 1,786 verified reviews · From US$57 per person · Free cancellation

Volcano Expeditions' two-day hike: hotel pickup, three meals, a jacket, gloves and hat lent, a night at base camp and the sunrise summit. Guide in Spanish.

Check dates